Eurovision 2012 song review (part two).

Here’s part two of my Eurovision review. Hope you like it!

Italy (Nina Zilli – L’Amore È Femmina (Out Of Love)): Ooh, another actual dual-language jazzy-type number from the Italians! And it’s SO much better than last year’s song! Can they go one better and win it this year though? Only time will tell…
Latvia (Anmary – Beautiful Song): Not entirely sure this one lives up to the title of the song but it’s definitely not the worst song this year. There are a number of horrors, though, so I can live with this one.
Lithuania (Donny Montell – Love Is Blind): Another year, another dull as dishwater song from Lithuania. Sorry, but it’s not my cup of tea.
Malta (Kurt Calleja – This Is The Night): I wasn’t too sure about this one at first and he wasn’t my favourite in the Maltese national final but, now, I absolutely love it. Sadly for Kurt, however, he isn’t Fabrizio Faniello, so he probably won’t qualify.
Moldova (Pasha Parfeny – Lăutar): This is a LOT better than last year’s shoutathon and I actually like it. Not sure it’ll qualify though.
Montenegro (Rambo Amadeus – Euro-Neuro): This is probably the worst of the lot and, with the talentless Irish twins back in the mix, that’s saying a lot! NEXT!
Netherlands (Joan Franka – You And Me): Another brilliant song from the Dutchies. Can they actually make it into the final this year though? We’ll see…
Norway (Tooji – Stay): Most people are saying Tooji is Norway’s answer to Eric Saade but I don’t think that’s such a bad thing since I loved Popular (actually, I still do) and I hope we see Norway in the final this year! Poor Stella Mwangi was robbed blind last year!
Portugal (Filipa Sousa – Vida Minha): I don’t speak/understand Portuguese but I know enough to know that this is 1,000,000 times better than last year’s ‘effort’ from Portugal’s answer to The X Factor rejects! I’m still glad they didn’t make the final – the other naff songs that got there last year were bad enough!
Romania (Mandinga – Zaleilah): Never mind dual-language, there’s about twenty different languages in this song! (OK, that was an exaggeration but, as I love this song, that’s not such a bad thing!)
Russia (Buranovskiye Babushki – Party For Everybody): Surely the Russians were joking sending this to Baku?! They obviously don’t want to win it again any time soon! Still, it’ll probably qualify anyway – nobody would dare let ‘Mother Russia’ down!
San Marino (Valentina Monetta – The Social Network Song): Here’s one for you San Marino: why did you just re-write the lyrics to this lame excuse of a ‘song’?! WHAT HAVE YOU DONE?! Do you not want to win?! It’s horrendous and I’m forever offline to you now please go away!
Serbia (Željko Joksimović – Nije Ljubav Stvar): Another great song (of sorts) from the Serbians and he’s not bad looking either! OOF!
Slovakia (Max Jason Mai – Don’t Close Your Eyes): Is this Slovakia’s answer to Lordi? Er, no, probably not but it’s still a good song anyway.
Slovenia (Eva Boto – Verjamem): What is with Slovenia and ballady-type songs?! I quite like this one but I don’t think it’ll qualify.
Spain (Pastora Soler – Quédate Conmigo): This is possibly one of my top ten songs this year and I might even dig out my Spanish flag this year! LOVE IT!
Sweden (Loreen – Europhoria): Another up-tempo song from the Swedes. Bookies favourite too. But can it win overall after little Eric Saade came third last year? We’ll see…
Switzerland (Sinplus – Unbreakable): Has anyone any idea what this song’s about? Nope, me either. Sorry Switzerland!
Turkey (Can Bonomo – Love Me Back): I don’t like this song but I don’t hate it either and I sense disappointment for Turkey again this year.
Ukraine (Gaitana – Be My Guest): I think I still prefer Wild Dances from a few years ago but this one will probably still make the final.
United Kingdom (Engelbert Humperdinck – Love Will Set You Free): And finally, my country. I’m still not entirely convinced about the song or the singer (someone at the BBC was obviously scraping the bottom of every barrel in the press office) but maybe those Russian grannies will get him hot under the collar? Who knows?

AND THAT’S IT! My personal favourites are the three Scandinavian countries (Finland and Iceland aren’t counted) plus Germany, Malta and Italy, so who knows who will win but I guarantee it certainly won’t be us… or Ireland!

BRING ON EUROVISION WEEK! It’s going to be GREAT!

Leave a Reply

