Eurovision 2012 song review (part one).

All views and opinions are my own. Please respect them. Thank you.

Albania (Rona Nishliu – Suus): Someone call the Albanian rozzers, we’ve got someone murdering a cat! Bit too screechy for my liking! Sorry!
Austria (Trackshittaz – Woki Mit Diem Popo): I didn’t actually like this one at first but it grew on me in a weird sort-of way. Saying that, however, it’s not one of my absolute favourites this year and I don’t see it making the final.
Azerbaijan (Sabina Babayeva – When The Music Dies): Because Ell and Nikki won in Düsseldorf last year, this year’s contest is being held at a brand-spanking-new venue somewhere in Baku. Sadly for Azerbaijan, however, I don’t see them hosting it next year. This song is nothing special so I don’t see them winning it for the second year in a row.
Belarus (LiteSound – We Are The Heroes): I preferred the original rockier version before they changed it to a more techno version but I still like the song. Not sure if it’ll make the final, though.
Belgium (Iris – Would You?): Er, no Belgium, I wouldn’t. See you in the semis.
Bosnia-Herzegovina (MayaSar – Korake Ti Znam): This is so much better than Dino Merlin’s effort last year but, as I don’t speak Bosnian, I have no idea what it’s about. Nice song though.
Bulgaria (Sofi Marinova – Love Unlimited): Come back Poli Genova, all is forgiven!
Croatia (Nina Badrić – Nebo): This one’s a bit of a slowie but I like it.
Cyprus (Ivi Adamou – La La Love): Ooh, an actual dancey-type song from Cyprus! And a good one at that!
Denmark (Soluna Samay – Should’ve Known Better): I wasn’t entirely sure about this one at first but, after a few listens, I loved it and it’s another brilliant song from the Danes. Sadly, however, there are some people who are saying it won’t make the final so hope it qualifies to shut the critics up. That is all.
Estonia (Ott Lepland – Kuula): Sorry Estonia, but this one’s as dull as dishwater. Can we have Getter Jaani back please?
Finland (Pernilla Karlsson – När Jeg Blundar): Another one that’s as dull as dishwater. We had enough of them last year!
France (Anggun – Echo (You and I)): I never thought I’d hear myself say this but we have another brilliant song from the Frenchies! Not sure dual-language is a good idea though but, then, Italy had a dual-language song last year and they came second…
FYR Macedonia (Kaliopi – Crlo i Belo): Another year, another rubbish song from the Macedonians! I’m not keen on this one! Sorry Macedonia!
Germany (Roman Lob – Standing Still): Is it wrong for me to fancy a German bloke? OOF! He has the looks AND he can sing! RESULT!
Georgia (Anri Jokhadze – I’m A Joker): Get off the stage, you’re shit! NEXT!
Greece (Eleftheria Eleftheriou – Aphrodisiac): This is a million and one times better than last year’s crap rap but I can’t help thinking her name reminds me of that Greek bloke from Shooting Stars. This will more than likely qualify as well but I don’t mind that.
Hungary (Compact Disco – Sound Of Our Hearts): Another song I like. It’s not as good as last year’s up-tempo number by Kati Wolf, however, but it’s still a decent enough song.
Iceland (Gréta Salóme and Jónsi – Never Forget): I think I preferred the Icelandic version, Mundu Efter Mér, but it’s still a better effort than last year’s borefest!
Ireland (Jedward – Waterline): The more I hear this song, the more I want to rip my own ears off! PLEASE STOP SENDING THESE TWO, IRELAND, OR I REFUSE TO SUPPORT YOU IN EUROVISION AGAIN! URGH! Anyone got a mute button going spare?!
Israel (Izabo – Time): Another boring song from Israel. Not liking this one. Sorry.

Part two coming up next…

Leave a Reply

