Top 5: Songs from Eurovision 2013.

ESC-Eurovision-2013_butterfly_background-logo-2-e1364549196385

Eurovision. It’s like Marmite. You either love it or you hate it. I used to hate it myself but I now love it. I haven’t done a Top 5 for a while so I thought I’d do a Eurovision-themed one since it’ll be the big night in a couple of weeks time. I’ve already done a review of all the songs but here are my top five (in no particular order).

Enjoy.

PS: Whilst I like our song, I can’t vote for my own country. Sorry Bonnie!

001. Margaret Berger – I Feed You My Love (Norway): Norway have gone for the electronica option this year and it’s also one of those songs that I can enjoy listening to over and over again without getting bored of it. I still have no idea what the hell Margaret was wearing in the Norwegian Melodi Grand Prix final but I do like her song.

002. Cascada – Glorious (Germany): I’ve been a fan of Cascada for as long as I can remember and their song is one of those that I can exercise to when I’m on the treadmill or whatever. It’s very upbeat and it wouldn’t go amiss on club nights.

003. Ryan Dolan – Only Love Survives (Ireland): Another one that wouldn’t go amiss on club nights is this little dance-type number by a cute guy from Northern Ireland and I can actually dig out my Irish flag again to wave this year as well having kept it hidden in a box for the last two years due to a pair of talentless pillocks making the rest of Europe look untidy. I can’t guarantee Eurovision will be going back to Ireland for the eighth time of asking but Ryan doing well will help.

004. Gianluca Bezzina – Tomorrow (Malta): One song I’ve been listening to a lot recently (and singing along to) is this very quirky song from Malta. It’s easy to sing along to and, once again, the good Maltese people haven’t let me down. There may be no foot-shuffling this year but there’ll be a lot of foot tapping, I guarantee it.

005. Emmelie de Forest – Only Teardrops (Denmark): The current favourite with the bookies to win the whole shebang this year is this one from the Danes. It’s got flutes. It’s got whistles. It’s got drums. It’s got… everything. What more could you ask for? Copenhagen 2014 anyone?

Only just missing out this year are You by Robin Stjernberg from Sweden, Something by Andrius Pojavis from Lithuania, You And Me by Takasa from Switzerland and Birds by Anouk from The Netherlands. They’re still in my top ten, so it’s not all bad.

PPS: It’s my birthday today. But you all knew that… right?

Leave a Reply

