A few good reads.

books

I do love a good book. My bookshelf is like a mini library at the moment. There are autobiographies, books with the odd humourous title, my bible (I got it when I was confirmed years ago so don’t judge me), crime thrillers, a quite amusing Queen Elizabeth II parody, travel guides of Malta and Denmark, an amusing book written by a frustrated traveller flying on a cheap and naff Irish airline, the Fifty Shades trilogy (yes, REALLY), a few novels and even several language dictionaries (Italian, Spanish, German, French, Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, Dutch and one titled Polish For Dummies), a baby names book (don’t ask), an astrology book, several Keep Calm books and a couple of music books stuffed in spare boxes. I’ve probably missed some out but you get the idea. There are some, like the aforementioned bible, that I’ve had for years and they’re like keepsakes to me so I don’t want to get rid of them.

I’m currently reading the second book in The Killing/Forbrydelsen series, having read the first one, which I loved, and I’m loving this one too. It’s the hardback edition and quite big, but I recently downloaded a few free books onto my new Samsung Galaxy tablet, which I have the Kindle app on, so I will get it for that as well. I can’t get enough of my new tablet. It’s perfect for when I go on holiday or weekends away. Saves packing books. Having many books on one machine is better and it saves your page so you can start where you left off. What more could you ask for?

(My current book on my tablet is one written by a LAS paramedic in case you’re wondering.)

So, without further ado, here is a list of some of the books I want to purchase. Not counting those I already have, though there are some in normal book form that I want to get again for my Kindle app.

Enjoy.

Adrian Morley: Moz – My Story
Caroline Graham: The Killings At Badger’s Drift (plus others in the Midsomer Murders series)
Tom Sharpe: Blott On The Landscape
Fabrice Muamba: Still Standing
Paul Hendy: Diary Of A C-List Celeb
Sam Hayes: Someone Else’s Son

The ones I want on my Kindle app (that I already have in normal book form) are Stieg Larsson’s Millennium trilogy, the two books in the Forbrydelsen series, plus a third if and when there is one, David Peace’s The Damned United, which is centred around Brian Clough’s time at Leeds United and two rather humourous books centred around the medical profession (one in a GP surgery, the other in an A&E department), which are Sick Notes by Tony Copperfield and In Stitches by Nick Edwards.

Oh, and not forgetting the series of books written by Jo Nesbø. I have three of them but there are about eight altogether.

There may be others I get but, for now, these will do. I want them mainly for reading when I go on holiday in September. The free ones will do for now, however. They’ll last me until I go away for a couple of days next week.

Hopefully.

Leave a Reply

