Music love.

keyboard.jpg

Like most other people, I love all different styles of music. Two of my all-time favourite bands are A1 and Busted, both of whom I’ve adored since I was a teenager, but I do have something of an eclectic, yet questionable, taste in music. Anything from pop, to classical, to rock, to golden oldies, to techno… even something a little bit cheesy. If it’s a good song and anything that isn’t Justin Bieber or chav music, you can guarantee I’ll have it in my music collection.

However, some of my most-played albums recently have been from mainly pop and gothic metal artists. I’m not the world’s biggest metal or gothic rock fan but I have bands such as Evanescence, Linkin Park, Tรฝr and Within Temptation on my MP3 player. The latter are my current favourites and I’ve been listening to so much of their music recently. I just can’t get enough of them.

Music obviously plays a big part in everyone’s lives, whether it be at a special event or whatever, and one of my most exciting things is hearing a song I haven’t heard in a while on the radio. There will be the odd song where I think “what the hell did I just listen to?” but it’s not all bad.

I’ve picked a few of my favourite songs, some current and some all-time favourites, and I’ve done my best to choose different genres, so see what you think…

Meat Loaf – In The Land Of The Pigs, The Butcher Is King: I’ve always loved a bit of the Loafer, having grown up listening to my mum’s entire Meat Loaf back catalogue, but it wasn’t until last year when I put some Meat Loaf on my MP3 player that I discovered this song. It makes me laugh every time I hear it and it never fails to cheer me up when I’m feeling down.

Elton John – Crocodile Rock: An oldie but a goodie. And it sounds even better live! I saw Elton live a week ago and, as soon as I heard this song, I was instantly on my feet, singing and dancing along to it, despite being right high up in the Gods of the brand-spanking-new First Direct Arena. I’ve always loved Elton’s music so I’m happy that I finally managed to see him live.

Bastille – Pompeii: I instantly fell in love with this song the first time I heard it on the radio and it’s one of those songs I can listen to whilst working out on the treadmill or whatever. It was a feel-good song for the summer of 2013 and it’ll make me think of the rather warm summer we had (makes a change from being drowned out every summer) when it starts getting colder again.

Josh Groban – I Believe (When I Fall In Love It Will Be Forever): I’ve been a fan of Josh (and, in fact, classical music in general) for as long as I can remember and I just adore his voice. This song is one of his newest ones and I love it about as much as I love him.

Cliff Richard – Summer Holiday: It’s no secret that I’ve been a fan of Cliff’s since I was younger. I had at least two of his albums on cassette and one on CD, plus his Summer Holiday film/musical on VCR (yes, it’s really going that far back! Does anyone even use cassettes and VCR’s nowadays?), and he’s still one of my favourite artists to this day. It’s not even a guilty pleasure and I don’t care who knows this.

Oasis – Champagne Supernova: This was one of the first songs we ever sang during Music lessons round the piano at school (it was either this or Bonnie and Clyde) and it’s been one of my all-time favourites ever since. I’ve never been a big fan of Oasis and literally only like their first album, plus a couple of their other slow songs, but this is my ultimate favourite of theirs.

Leave a Reply

