Top 5: Songs from Eurovision 2014.

maltesegc

As most of you will know, this year’s Eurovision Song Contest takes place next weekend, with the semi-finals starting a week today, so I thought I’d do a second Eurovision-themed Top 5 again and, just like last year, I’m about to post the five songs that I like the most… in no particular order, of course.

Enjoy.

001. András Kállay-Saunders – Running (Hungary): As I said in my review post, Hungary have a nice song which is sung by a fit singer. I still hope he’s left his teddy bear in Budapest, though. I’m still not entirely sure what that was all about.

002. Can-Linn feat. Kasey Smith – Heartbeat (Ireland): You can usually always rely on the Irish to deliver a decent song (not counting 2011 and 2012 when they sent Jedward or 2008 when they sent that fecking turkey) and this year, they’ve done just that.  I just hope they don’t win the wooden spoon again this year. Ryan Dolan was robbed last year!

003. Freaky Fortune feat. Riskykidd – Rise Up (Greece): One song I’ll be plonking onto the good ol’ exercise MP3 player after Eurovision’s finished is this one from the Greeks. It’s got trumpets, it’s got a good disco beat, and it’s perfect for when I’m on the treadmill/rowing maching/bike/whatever. It’s also about a million times better than that song about free booze they sent last year. My flatmate actually voted for that song. I didn’t. I may vote for this one though but Greece won’t want it going to Athens next year. They can’t afford naff all at the moment.

004. Sanna Nielsen – Undo (Sweden): WOW SWEDEN! Just… WOW! Your lovely Sanna (with a Danish/Norwegian-spelled surname?!) has a brilliant voice and I wouldn’t be surprised if Eurovision goes back to Stockholm next year! It’s an absolute belter of a song and I love it!

005. Firelight – Coming Home (Malta): As you may have already guessed with the photo accompanying this post, my ultimate favourite song this year is this one from Europe’s favourite tiny island. Having reached the top ten with a quirky folk song last year, Malta thought they’d try it again and, so far, they haven’t let me down. They are, however, singing first in the second semi-final, but I hope they reach the final again. I can also vote for them, which helps. Don’t let me down, people of Europe! We need the Maltese contingent back in the final!

BONUS 006. Molly Smitten-Downes – Children Of The Universe (United Kingdom): I absolutely adore our song this year and, whilst I won’t be able to vote for it (we can only vote for countries in the second semi-final and anyone in the final that isn’t the UK), I still hope we have a chance of getting at least close to winning this year, just like we did in 2009 when we last reached the top 5. Good luck, Mol! Everyone in the UK is behind you! (And, people of Europe, please be nice and vote for us. I would like to see us triumph in Eurovision once again!)

Only just missing out this year are Miracle by Paula Seling and Ovi from Romania, La Mia Città by Emma Marrone from Italy, Amazing by Tanja from Estonia, Moi Svijet by Sergej Ćetković from Montenegro and Calm After The Storm by The Common Linnets from The Netherlands. They’re about the only other songs I like this year. Most of them are still rubbish. (I’m looking at you, Poland.)

PS: In case you’re not aware, it’s my birthday today. Feel free to post birthday comments to my Twitter/Instagram/Facebook/wherever if you haven’t already.

Ta.

Leave a Reply

