A-Z book survey.

stackofbooks

I found this whilst visiting a friend’s blog and, because I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately, I thought it’d be a good time to do yet another book survey. If you like it, you’re welcome to fill it in using your own answers. Obviously.

Enjoy.

1. Authors from whom you have read the most books? J.K. Rowling, William Shakespeare, Steig Larsson, David Hewson and Charles Dickens.

2. Best sequel ever? The Girl Who Played With Fire. I love the Millennium series and have recently purchased the original Swedish version on DVD. I’ve still yet to watch it.

3. Current read? In paperback format: Tickling The English by Dara O’Briain. In e-book format: By Chance by Cat Grant.

4. Drink of choice while reading? A nice cup of Yorkshire’s finest.

5. E-reader or physical book? They both have their uses but I prefer a normal book. Nothing beats the smell of a new book. E-readers are more useful for travelling with. Have you ever tried shoving about five books in a bag for a two-week holiday?

6. Fictional character you probably would have actually dated in high school? Probably Romeo Montague since the only books I ever really read at school were Shakespeare books. I did read others but I loved Shakespeare and, actually, I still do.

7. Glad you gave this book a chance? I Am Zlatan by Zlatan Ibrahimović. His ego is probably as big as his conk but I loved reading his book whilst by the pool on holiday in Malta last year and I couldn’t put it down.

8. Hidden gem book? Not so much a hidden gem, but I really like the Wreck This Journal books by Keri Smith. They’re great for getting creative and doing exactly what it says on the cover.

9. Important moment in your reading life? Obviously, starting to read in the first place when I was little helped matters, but the most important part of my reading life were probably the books I read at school and I’ve been finding them again recently, albeit not all of them. Looking back, some of the books I read back then were pretty rubbish.

10. Just finished? Where Do Comedians Go When They Die by Milton Jones.

11. Kinds of books you won’t read? I’m happy to try all sorts of genres but I won’t touch self help books with a barge pole. The only exception to this rule are exercise/losing weight books. I have about three of those.

12. Longest book you have read? Toss up between Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and The Complete Works Of William Shakespeare. Well, they’re the longest books on my shelf, other than my dictionaries, so I’m saying those.

13. Major book hangover? Got to be Harry Potter hasn’t it? Both the books and the films made me want more. Shame it had to end.

14. Number of bookcases you own? Surprisingly, none. All my books are either on my shelf or, in the case of some of my travel guides, in a big blue treasure chest-shaped box.

15. One book you have read multiple times? Any of the Shakespeare books.

16. Preferred place to read? Bed.

17. Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read? “If we shadows have offended, know but this and all is mended, that you have but slumbered here while these visions did appear, and this weak and idle theme, no more yielding, but a dream.”

18. Reading regret? Fifty Shades! Need I say more?

19. Series you started and need to finish? The Northern Lights series by Phillip Pullman. I’ve read the first one. I need to read the other two.

20. Three of your all-time favourite books? The Wind In The Willows by Kenneth Grahame, Heidi by Johanna Spyri and A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. I have more than these though, obviously, but it only asked me for three.

21. Unapologetic fangirl for: Harry Potter. Not ashamed to admit it either.

22. Very excited for this release more than all the others? The Killing III. It’s technically already out but I’m waiting for the paperback version to be released.

23. Worst bookish habit? Starting one and not finishing it.

24. X marks the spot. Start at the top left of your bookshelf and pick the 27th book: My Animals And Other Family by Clare Balding.

25. Your last book purchase? Wicked by Gregory Maguire.

26. ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you awake)? Darkness Descending by Paul Russell.

Leave a Reply

