So, the inevitable happened. The current World Cup holders, Spain, were knocked out of the World Cup last night.

Having already lost 5-1 against the Dutch last week, it looked like they surrendered it all against a very good Chile side last night, making Spain and Australia the first two teams to be knocked out of the World Cup. They’d dominated everything in recent years, winning Euro 2012 and, of course, the World Cup in 2010, but they crashed and burned last night and pretty much blew it. Spain and Australia now face each other in the last group match, even though there’s basically naff all to play for, before they set off for the airport and head back to Madrid and Canberra.

I was sort-of supporting Spain as well, so I’m rather shocked about it myself.

So, if the European dominance of the World Cup wants to continue (Italy won it in 2006), I reckon it’ll be Germany or The Netherlands for the win. It definitely won’t be England, folks. Don’t get your hopes up.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s